Response

February 17, 2011 § 2 Comments

I read a well-written article about a visit to the New Holland auction in PA.  The piece was heart breaking to read (as all posts about auction and ultimately slaughter are) but what set it apart for me were the numerous photographs, and the attention to all the animals, not just horses.  Every time I read one of these posts, I note the author seems to see at least one horse that someone has groomed, braided, put glitter on, etc… all in an effort to show that the horse was loved and needs a good home.  That part always makes me sad, as I inevitably think some child did that because their parents made the decision to take the horse to auction, and even the child knows it’s a bad path for the horse.

The reason I’m writing about this today, is I left a comment on February 11th, and it is still awaiting moderation (sorry, but I feel bad if I miss a comment for a day or two!).  So, since I have this blog, well, I’ll just leave the comment here.  ;)  My comment was in response to a particular comment.  That comment is below:

Posted December 29, 2010 at 11:59 AM
1 Vote

What people fail to realize, is that this is the way that all auctions work. And I’m pretty sure that a lot of people that complain about “mistreated” animals, have enjoyed a nice steak or some bacon at some point in their lives. Where do you think meat comes from? That’s what farmers do. They buy animals at a young age, raise them to market size, and then sell them for the meat. This has been going on forever, and you can try as hard as you please, but will never change it entirely. If it weren’t for farmers, and people who work in auctions that supply meat, we would not be where we are today. Auctions are a business like everything else. It’s about making the most money they possibly can in a small amount of time.

Animal rights activists, you people are the most hypocritical nut cases I have EVER met. You make a big scene when there’s a goat or a pig being treated in a way you considered unfair, but I guarantee that you have a fly swatter and a can of raid in your house, or have utilized an exterminator at some point in your life. So we only save the cute and delicious animals, is that it?

Bottom line, sure New Holland and other stables have earned a negative reputation, but it is what it is. You’re not going to change the way things are done. Animals that are in those crowded quarters are used to it. That’s the way they were raised. Visit a pig, goat, chicken, turkey, or any other specialty farm, and take a look at things. It’s not cruel to the animals, because they know no different.

My Response

I’ve done a lot of reading and research about the slaughter industry, and I’ve seen many pro-slaughter proponents use the exact same arguments each and every time. It’s disgusting really. This response is directed at Ironman.

What people fail to realize, is that this is the way that all auctions work.
Just because it is, doesn’t mean it’s right. Many animals are abused at auction, and while a lot of people have an emotional response to the fact of slaughter the bottom line is that the auction is not how the average beef, pork, etc. get to a dinner plate.

And I’m pretty sure that a lot of people that complain about “mistreated” animals, have enjoyed a nice steak or some bacon at some point in their lives. Where do you think meat comes from?
I agree that most people purchase meat from a store without really thinking about the life of the animal they are eating. But that doesn’t mean they can’t be appalled at the treatment of the animals they do see. What you’re trying to say – and I’ve seen this over and over again – is that because people eat meat they shouldn’t care about the treatment the animals receives, and that’s just plain bull.

That’s what farmers do. They buy animals at a young age, raise them to market size, and then sell them for the meat. This has been going on forever, and you can try as hard as you please, but will never change it entirely.
No, and here is what is fundamentally wrong with your argument. As I stated, most farmers do NOT run their livestock through auctions such as this one. Don’t most farmers who raise meat animals bring their animals direct to the packers and stockyards?? And I’m not talking the “little guys” with under a hundred head… I’m talking the big guys who have direct channels to places like WalMart, Costco, etc. They’re not running a measly 100 head through these auctions. So talking about people buying meat in a store, and using that analogy to fool people into thinking these auctions is where their meat is coming from is foolish.

If it weren’t for farmers, and people who work in auctions that supply meat, we would not be where we are today. Auctions are a business like everything else. It’s about making the most money they possibly can in a small amount of time.
Yes, I agree auctions are a business. Fortunately, they are increasingly coming to light as abusers, and as well a way for people to “get rid of” an animal they’ve abused and don’t want any more. Why is it that the pro-slaughter proponent for horses talk about all the “unwanted, useless, injured, end of life” horses that are going through the auction houses, but when it’s cattle, pigs, goats or other farm animals you try to make it sound like these are high-end meat animals destined for the finest shops? There’s a disconnect here, and I think that’s obvious.

Animal rights activists, you people are the most hypocritical nut cases I have EVER met. You make a big scene when there’s a goat or a pig being treated in a way you considered unfair, but I guarantee that you have a fly swatter and a can of raid in your house, or have utilized an exterminator at some point in your life. So we only save the cute and delicious animals, is that it?
I am not an animal rights activist. I’ve not poured blood on myself and walked around with a sign. I’m not a member of PETA. I do eat meat, although I eat as little as possible and try to buy locally. I do kill flies (as well as any other bug who dares enter MY home :]) but that does not make me a hypocrite. I am not a hypocrite because I care HOW THE ANIMALS WERE TREATED while they were raised, and that they were killed HUMANELY. Just because an animal is destined for the dinner plate, does not mean it should be abused, and when you paint anyone who cares about the treatment of these animals with the PETA brush, you show your true ignorance.

Bottom line, sure New Holland and other stables (edit in, New Holland is NOT a “stable”) have earned a negative reputation, but it is what it is. You’re not going to change the way things are done.
Really? “It is what it is.”??? I believe you’re wrong. Many people believe you’re wrong. Blogs like this, news stories in papers and on TV, and many other stories out there bringing to light how animals are treated IS making a difference. People can’t change what they don’t KNOW about, and the Internet is a powerful tool.

Animals that are in those crowded quarters are used to it. That’s the way they were raised. Visit a pig, goat, chicken, turkey, or any other specialty farm, and take a look at things. It’s not cruel to the animals, because they know no different.
Just because an animal, ANY animal, is raised in certain conditions, and may not “know different” doesn’t make it acceptable. And things ARE changing. More people, regular folk, care about where their food is coming from (just look at the whole “organic” craze). I’m sure that’s what a lot of you backwards rednecks are really afraid of… change.

And anyone can use Google.

Furthermore

After I hit “submit” on that comment… I found I wasn’t done.  I was so incensed at the blatant ignorance of this guy, and the fact that he, and others of his ilk, write such utter bullshit as though it is fact… that I had to leave a second comment…

Second Comment

And you know, I just have to add this because I didn’t go NEAR into why this particular statement pisses me off:

… but it is what it is. You’re not going to change the way things are done.

I’m sure this statement has been used SO many times throughout history. I’m sure there were African Americans out there that said to others “we are slaves, it is what it is, you’re not going to change the way things are done” (MLK probably rolls in his grave every time he hears that, no matter what it’s about – HE knew change could be made).

I’m sure there were women who told Alice Paul “we’ll never get to vote, we should stay in the kitchen, it is what it is, you’re not going to change the way things are done” too, yet low and behold women are now allowed to vote (and now women have (gasp) equal rights).

And buddy, those two examples happened in the last 90 years. Things do change. Things will change. Roll with it.

§ 2 Responses to Response

  • Kathy says:

    Animals that are in those crowded quarters are used to it. That’s the way they were raised. Visit a pig, goat, chicken, turkey, or any other specialty farm, and take a look at things. It’s not cruel to the animals, because they know no different….
    In response to that What about the children that were born and raised in abusive neglective homes? SO when those kids grow up commit crimes we should just turn away because they know no different?? WRONG!!! A horse is no different to many people they are like their children so as I see it to abuse animals should be an offense just as serious as child neglect or abuse. The animals can not speak for themselves nor can they show you their hurt in most cases. I am not an activist I am a fellow horse owner and lover as well as other animals. I believe cattle have always been raised for meat or dairy (but do not deserve to abuse) where as horses have always been raised for transportation, help on the farm or even just a companion or pet either way they were not meant to be slaugtered!!! In closing I would just like to say way to go and keep up the good work.

    Like

    • Not A Breed says:

      OMG, I know. What a stupid fucking comment, eh? Just because the animal doesn’t ‘know any different’ it’s ok. What a fucktard.
      Thanks for the comment Kathy. Now that you’ve been approved for your first comment, you don’t have to wait for approval any long. Comment away.
      (I just do that to keep the spammers at bay.)

      Like

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Response at NotABreed.

meta

