Candy & Jim Amos – Your horses should be CONFISCATED. Immediately.

May 2, 2011 § 4 Comments

Wow.  Not only are Candy and Jim of Lightningwind Arabians in Loomis, CA trying to starve their horses (read my last post:  https://notabreed.wordpress.com/2011/05/01/candy-salt-i-mean-amos-i-mean-kampmann/), but apparently they’d like to break a few of their legs as well…

WTF?

WTF?

What the hell are these people thinking?  I mean, most horse owners check their barn, paddock and pasture daily (or at least every other day) to make sure there is nothing there that can hurt a horse.  I’ve said it to my friends before… you can wrap a horse in bubble wrap and put it in a padded room, and they’ll still find a way to hurt themselves.  Yet, Candy and Jim seem to have the “sink or swim” mentality.  Throw the horse out in a paddock with as many obstacles as possible and the ones that make it out alive are the ones they’ll breed.

The only thing that could make me more angry would be to find out they send their old, broken-down, used up, and/or lame horses straight to the slaughter pipeline…  This is about all there is left to add to these peoples’ list of idiocy.

Just LOOK at the number of panels laying on the ground!  I count no less than seven laying on the ground, not including the pile off to the left.

According to the person who left the comment and posted the photo:

This is one of the horses my daughters were trying to use for 4-H. I told both Candy and Jim the horses were too skinny and we were getting complaints from the 4-H leaders about the horses we were bringing to shows. Jim told me 4-H folks think they know everything after one year in a program and they didn’t know what they were talking about. Picture was taken in April 2011.

People don’t even have to OWN an animal to know that ribs showing means underfed, asshole.

Update:

Another blog:  http://horsehumane.org/blog/2011/05/03/5-1-11/  (Thanks for the cross-post)

Original board comments:  http://forums.arabianbreeders.net/topic/48496-horrible-horse-abuse/

§ 4 Responses to Candy & Jim Amos – Your horses should be CONFISCATED. Immediately.

  • Jane says:

    I leased one of my precious purebred Arabian mares to Candy last year. I DID NOT know how horribly she cared for the horses at that time. She seemed like a nice person, breeding horses for 30 years, and I fell for it. I rescued my mare 2 weeks ago immediately upon learning the situation there. She is extremely thin, reportedly has a large amount of sand in her gut, and has real trust issues with human contact that she didn’t have before. Candy is in violation of almost every condition of the lease she signed regarding the care of my mare. Believe me, those horses all need to be removed from there and given proper care and love!

    Like

    • Not A Breed says:

      I’m so sorry to hear about the condition of your horse. I know I’d be screaming mad. Thankfully you’ve rescued her in time, from that terrible situation. It will take time to regain her trust, but once you do… she’ll be so thankful. Animals do show an incredible appreciation for being removed from a bad situation. Good luck with her, and please post back an update. I’d love to hear from you. Oh, and before and after photos would rock!

      Like

    • T. Mclellan says:

      Jane
      I made the same mistake you made. I sent a horse for trainining BEFORE looking at the guys fencing FIRST. So hopefully you have learned the same lesson. LOOK at the place before you trust ANY animal into somone else’s care!

      Like

  • RH says:

    I spoke with Animal Control and the investigation in still under way. Both the Arabian Horse Association and the Saddlebred Association are also investigating this matter and are looking to suspend their new permits for breeding registrations. The horse community has spoken this type of neglect will not be tolerated!!! I hope we will be able to get those horses removed ASAP.

    Like

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Candy & Jim Amos – Your horses should be CONFISCATED. Immediately. at NotABreed.

meta

